A Call to Pastors

I have a tremendous amount of respect for pastors. Serving in pastoral ministry has provided me both great joy, and heartache. It is a difficult job in many ways, and often very isolating. My hope is that I may be able to minister to churches and leaders helping them become more aware and better equipped to address the problem of domestic abuse.

With That Said:

Recently, while participating in a live stream event with my friend Leslie Vernick I took some time to record this short video to pastors and church leaders.

Final Thought:

Speaking of resources, here are a few to get you started.

1. The resource page on my website contains articles, webinars and live stream events I’ve participated in  – http://peaceworks1.webs.com/resources

2. A Cry For Justice has an exhaustive resource list here – http://cryingoutforjustice.com/resources/

3. Leslie Vernick is a friend and tremendous resource for the church. You can learn more about her here – http://www.leslievernick.com

4. Focus Ministries has been a blessing to me over the years. I have used many of the resources found at their website – http://www.focusministries1.org

5. There are also a few books I would like to recommend to help you get started.

-A Cry For Justice by Jeff Crippen and Anna Wood.

-Is It My Fault by Justin and Lindsey Holcomb

-Mending the Soul by Steven Tracy

-The Emotionally Destructive Marriage by Leslie Vernick

What do you think?

What did you think of my video? What additional resources would you recommend to pastors? If you’re a pastor or church leader, what resources would you like to see?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Call to Pastors

  1. Teresa Lloyd says:

    I don’t see the video for pastors. Can you please direct me to it?

    Thank you so much for all you do! You are a blessing to many!

    Teresa Lloyd

  2. Teresa Lloyd says:

    Nevermind. I was just reading the email and didn’t follow the link through to the blog. Thanks

  3. healingInHim says:

    Praying that pastors ‘hear you’ and obey the infallible Word. Thank you for posting these resources.

  4. Teresa says:

    Pastors today are in a position similar to those in the days of abolition. Some churches then were at the forefront in declaring slavery to be against the heart of God as revealed in the Bible, while others used the Bible to condone it. Still others didn’t want to address the issue at all lest they become a target for criticism, so they stayed silent or equivocated. When people in a church are left to wonder what God thinks of abuse of all kinds, or worse, are led to believe that He condones it, the pastor is not doing His job.

  5. Joy Forrest says:

    Thanks so much for these resources! I feel like I’ve been fighting an uphill battle for years in the biblical counseling community. I found Focus Ministries and ACFJ a few years ago, but haven’t found anyone in the biblical counseling realm talking about these issues. One professor in my seminary did assign How to Act Right When Your Spouse Acts Wrong for his marital counseling classes, but when Leslie came out with The Emotionally Destructive Relationship, he wouldn’t support it. Apparently, he doesn’t believe in emotional abuse. The seminary invites me to speak on DV from time to time, but it’s difficult to get pastors and churches to recognize they have a problem, much less do anything about it. I used to be spokesperson for a DV shelter and our attempts to reach churches were pretty futile. I’ve felt like a voice crying in the wilderness– glad to see there are other voices crying too. You asked for other resources, and would love for you to check out my blog. Here are a few posts I’d love to share. https://joyforrest.wordpress.com/2015/10/20/a-biblical-account-of-the-abusive-personality/
    https://joyforrest.wordpress.com/2014/02/26/biblical-headship-and-submission-in-emotionally-abusive-marriages/

Leave a Reply

